Decorator’s Club Scholarship Awards Ceremony

The Decorators Club presented their 20th Annual Scholarship Awards in the SMART showroom on October 23, 2013. Participants in this competition were selected by their respective schools to be considered for the five prizes determined by the 2013 judges: Courtney Coleman, Anne Fairfax, Katie Leede and Doris LaPorte. The scholarship committee was co-chaired by Access to Design designer Brett Beldock and Judy Girod with support of committee members Meg Braff and Eileen Boyd Cahill.

The 2013 participants included:

Asa Bollvik and Kuan Chung Tao from the Fashion Institute of Technology
Anatasia Berestov and Ashley Sarazen from the New York Institute of Technology
Andressa Pavlovic and Sun Woong Youm from the New York School of Interior Design
Calvin Hay Young Chung and Janet Kim of Parsons, The New School
Jennifer Palomma and Bank Samrtipricha of Pratt
Vanessa Lacayo and Anthony Pezzula of the School of Visual Arts

The 2013 prizes are awarded to assist the students pursuing their interior design education.

First prize: First Place award of $10,000 to Asa Bollvik of FIT for the Icelandic Restaurant: PIDA project
Second Prize: Second place of $5,000 to Jennifer Palomma of Pratt for the Taschen Publishing project
Third Prize:  Third place award of $2,000 to Kuan Chung Tao of FIT for the Bamboo Project

The Elsie May Gross Award for Residential Design: The prize of $1,000 to Jennifer Palomma of Pratt for the aPODment project.

The Nancy Mannucci Scholarship Award for Universal Design: The prize of $1,000 to Asa Bollvick of FIT for the New York Sterascopic Society project

Congratulations to all the winners and participants on their inspiring work!